Professor J N Elgin

I am the head of the Department of Mathematics at Imperial College London.

Department of Mathematics
Imperial College London
Huxley Building
180 Queen's Gate
London SW7 2AZ

Room Number: 644
Telephone: +44 (0)20 7594 8508
E-Mail: j.elgin@imperial.ac.uk

My Research Interests

Multifractal properties of low and infinite dimensional chaotic systems

Studies on the Vector Nonlinear Schrodinger Equation, with reference to nonlinear optical systems

Recent Publications

Nonlinear Optics in a Birefringent Optical Fibre

With T. P. Horikis
Physical Review E, to appear.

Pointwise Dimensions of the Lorenz System

With S. Gratrix
Physical Review Letters, to appear.

Asymptotic Analysis of the Michelson System

With K. N. Webster
Nonlinearity, 16:2149-2162, 2003.

Perturbed Solitons in Birefingent Fibres

With T. P. Horikis
Journal of Physics A, 36:4841-4848, 2003.

Solitons in Fibres with Polarization Mode Dispersion

With T. P. Horikis
Optics Letters, 27:1516-1518, 2002.

Soliton Radiation in an Optical Fibre

With T. P. Horikis
Journal of the Optical Society of America, 318:913-918, 2001.

Polarization Dynamics of Solitons in Birefringent Fibres

With S. M. Baker and J. Gibbons
Physical Review E, 62:4325-4332, 2000.

Closure of the Manakov System

With R. Docksey
SIAM Journal on Mathematical Analysis, 32:54-79, 2000.

My Research and PhD Students

Sam Gratrix

E-Mail: sam.gratrix@imperial.ac.uk

Ian Pawson

E-Mail: ian.pawson@imperial.ac.uk

Kevin Webster

E-Mail: kevin.webster@imperial.ac.uk

Chin-wook Baek

E-Mail: chin-wook.baek@imperial.ac.uk

Oliver Warren

E-Mail: oliver.warren@imperial.ac.uk