I have received a Job Alert email but when I click on a link I am asked for my username and password. Is this correct?

Yes. If you are not already logged into your account then the system will ask you to login the first time you click on a link before it will open the vacancy details.  Once you are logged into your account any links you click on will open the relevant vacancy details.