Blog posts

Imperial celebrates LKCMedicine launch

Singapore’s Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine (LKCMedicine), a collaboration between Nanyang Technological University (NTU) and Imperial College London, welcomed its first 54 students this August. At an event on the 10th of September Imperial recognised the contributions of staff and students to Singapore’s newest medical school. Read full details here.

Imperial students on elective placements at Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, Singapore

The partnership between Imperial College London and Nanyang Technological University has created the newest medical school in Singapore, the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine, where recently 17 Imperial students undertook 3 or 6 week elective placements. Read full story in the Imperial College News here.

Eminent guest experts discuss implications of the Francis Report with final year students

We were delighted to welcome some reknowned guest speakers for the Guest Lecture on Thursday 4th July  in the new transition course for the final year medical students. The speakers held a panel debate chaired by Dr Nina Salooja entitled “The Francis Report – what lessons can be learnt?” following an introduction into the report by Dr David James, Consultant geriatrician at St Mary’s hospital.

Julie Bailey spoke movingly about how she had set up CuretheNHS after her mother had received poor care  and died unexpectedly at Staffordshire hospital. Professor Sir Brian Jarman discussed his role in attempting to alert the government and CQC to increased mortality rates in many institutions including Mid Staffordshire NHS Trust and Baroness Sally Greengross who is a cross bench peer and sits on the all parliamentary committee for death and dying spoke about attempts to use legislation to improve care for the elderly at the end of life and statutory ways to prevent victimisation of whistleblowers.

Student Academic Choice Awards

The Student Academic Choice Awards ( celebrate outstanding performance from academics and support staff and are nominated and chosen entirely by students.

We are extremely proud to announce that three members of the Faculty of Medicine received nominations. Jo Williams, Curriculum Administrator (Years 1 and 2) has been nominated for the Best Support Staff Award. Dr Sohag Saleh was nominated for the Best Tutoring Award and Dr Jane Saffell was nominated for the Best Innovation Award. We are even more proud to tell you that both Dr Sohag Saleh and Dr Jane Saffell have won in their respective categories!

iPad pilot launch event at the Faculty of Medicine

The Faculty of Medicine will be piloting a project issuing iPads to students in years 5 and 6 of the MBBS course at the beginning of the 2013/14 academic term.

The main learning and teaching activities planned to be delivered on iPads are:

  • All the course learning materials will be accessed via Blackboard Learn.
  • Students on placements will be able to readily and easily access learning materials and their own notes, and be able to add reflections, etc.
  • Some sign-off forms (DOPS) will be available electronically on the iPads allowing clinical teachers to assess students and submit the DOPS to the Faculty Education Office electronically, keeping a record on the students’ iPads.

EDU Prizes 2012

Congratulations go to three members of the Faculty of Medicine after their recent EDU awards; prizes were open to members of staff who had completed the Postgraduate Certificate (PG Cert), Diploma and MEd in University Learning and Teaching.

The Rees Rawlings prize for the best PG Cert portfolio went to  Dr Jonathan Benn, Lecturer in Quality Improvement Healthcare, Department of Surgery & Cancer, and to Dr Maria-de-Gracia Dominguez-Barrera, Honorary Clinical Lecturer in the Academic Unit of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

The Routledge Education Prize was awarded to Dr Jane Saffell, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Medicine, also a winner of the Rector’s Award for Excellence in Teaching 2011.

Interview with Dr Mike Barrett, Head of Learning Resources

Dr Michael Barrett, Head of Learning Resources and Senior Lecturer, was recently awarded the Rector’s Medal for Excellence in Supporting the Student Experience. Competition is fierce, with only a maximum of two medals awarded across the entire College, and we are immensely proud of Dr Barrett for receiving this thoroughly deserved award. We chatted with Mike about his history at Imperial and how he feels about his Rector’s Medal.

2012 PBL Prize

Year 1 student, James Soo, now in year 2, was awarded the Problem Based Learning prize at a ceremony at the Hall of Apothecaries on the 12th November. In attendance were the Course Leaders, Drs Jane Currie and Elizabeth Muir.

Prizes were also awarded to students form Kings, UCL, St. George’s and St. Barts/London medical schools. A talk was given by Sir Kenneth Calman,  KCB, DL, FRSE, former Chief Medical Officer of England.

Our congratulations go to James.

New Director of Occupational Health

Dr. Alan Swann will step down from the post of Director of Occupational Health at the end of December, after which he will work part-time as the Service’s OH Physician.

Ms Claire O’Brien, RN, BSc (Hons), Principal OH Adviser in the OH Service has been appointed to take over as Director and head of service. She will take up her new role on 1st January 2013. Leigh Turvey has been promoted to a new Senior OH Adviser post and will be responsible for the day-to-day organisation of clinic services.

Many thanks to Dr Swann and congratulations to Claire and Leigh.

Awards for Teaching Excellence for NHS teachers and Inaugural Lecture

On 7th November 2012 the Awards for Teaching Excellence for NHS Teachers were hosted by the Head of Quality Assurance and Enhancement and Deputy Director of Education, Professor Karim Meeran. Certificates were awarded by Professor Dermot Kelleher, Faculty Principal, and Professor Jenny Higham, Deputy Principal and Director of Education.

The recipients of the 2011-12 awards were:

Dr Nicky Coote, Consultant Paediatrician (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust)

Dr Michael Coren, Consultant Paediatrician (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust)

Dr Zahid Dhakam, Consultant GP (Ashford and St Peter’s Hospitals NHS Trust)

Dr Stephen Goldring, Consultant Paediatrician (The Hillingdon Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)

Dr Gira Patel, Locum Consultant Psychiatrist (Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust)

Dr Mary Roddie, Consultant Radiologist (Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust)

Dr Stuart Rosen, Consultant Cardiologist (Ealing Hospital NHS Trust)

Dr James Shelley, Consultant Dermatologist (Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust)

Dr Nuttan Tanna, Pharmacist Consultant (The North West London Hospitals NHS Trust)

Dr Sarah Woodham, Consultant Rheumatologist (The Hillingdon Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust)


Dr Elizabeth Muir and Professor Alison McGregor received Personal Tutor Awards for their exceptional support and practical advice to students over the course of the academic year.