Governance of the College

Following the College Notice of 26 February 2013 about a number of changes to the senior management of the College, which will come into effect over the coming months as part of the new President and Provost model of leadership for the College, it is now possible to set out further arrangements for the future governance of the College.

College Cabinet

Terms of reference: to plan for and address strategic issues of medium and long term impact.  It will handle major policies, external relationships, the College Masterplan, financial budgets (annual and medium term) and governance issues.

Core membership: President, Provost, CFO, College Secretary

By invitation according to business: Associate Provost (Institutional Affairs), Faculty Deans, Vice-President (Development & Innovation), Vice-Provosts, and Directors reporting to the President or Provost

President’s Coordinating Group

Terms of reference: informal gathering to consider high-level co-ordination of College business, new initiatives and important issues as they arise.

Core membership: President, Provost, CFO, College Secretary

Provost’s Board

Terms of reference: responsible for the delivery of the College’s core academic mission of education, research and translation.  This includes oversight of the quality and efficacy of education and research; recruitment, development and retention of academic, research and professional staff; student life and well-being; and in-year financial performance and financial control.

Core membership: Provost, CFO, College Secretary, Associate Provost (Institutional Affairs), Faculty Deans, Vice-Provosts

By invitation according to business: COO, Directors reporting to the President or Provost.  The President and Vice-President (Development & Innovation) may attend for specific items.


The Senate will retain its existing terms of reference and membership, and be chaired by the Provost.

Sub-committees of the College Cabinet

At its inception, there will be two sub-committees to the College Cabinet, both chaired by the President:

  • Capital Approval Board (CAB)
  • Estates Strategy Group

Estates Strategy Group

The Estates Strategy Group is newly constituted:

Terms of reference: to create a coherent College estates strategy and financial plan for the academic development of South Kensington, Imperial West, Silwood, and the medical campuses for at least the next decade.

Core membership: President (Chair), Provost, CFO, Associate Provost (Institutional Affairs), Vice-President (Development & Innovation), COO

By invitation according to business: Faculty deans, Vice-Provosts

Sub-committees of the Provost’s Board

  • Health, Safety & Environment Committee (Chair: College Secretary)
  • Equality & Diversity Committee (Chair: to be announced)
  • Space Committee (Chair: Associate Provost [Institutional Affairs])
  • Vice-Provost’s Committee for Research (Chair: Vice-Provost [Research])
  • Vice-Provost’s Committee for Education (Chair: Vice-Provost [Education])

Terms of reference for the latter two committees will be issued in due course.

Research Office

From 1 August 2013 the Research Office will report to the College Secretary & Registrar.


These new governance arrangements will take effect from 1 August 2013, and the Management Board will be dissolved from that date, but the College Cabinet is expected to commence its work before then.


Professor Sir Keith O’Nions

President & Rector

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *